Book Review: #Girlboss

9780143108597
Title: #Girlboss
Forfatter: Sophia Amoruso
Edition: Audiobook
Length: 4 hours, 41 minutes
Languages: English
Published: August 2015

I had never heard of Nasty Gal till I picked this one up. “Picked up”… it was already in my Mofibo app. Despite that, I really enjoyed this book! For some reason I didn’t expect to like it so much and to get so inspired from it. It looked very feminist-ish, based on the cover, and to my pleasant surprise, it wasn’t about that. (I don’t mind feminism but I was not in the mood for it when I started this book).

#Girlboss is a mix of being a memoir and a book with business advices from Sophia Amoruso, who started selling vintage clothes from ebay many years ago, and now run the online shopping website Nasty Gal. She gives motivational advices and tells stories of how she learned from her own mistakes.

I have to say that you shouldn’t expect too much from this book. It’s not an in-depth motivational book, filled to the brim with tools you can use to help yourself. It’s a fun and quirky read, where you get to see brief moments in Sophia’s life and how her choices and decisions affected her life. I saw a lot of negative reviews on Goodreads, that said that it was too shallow and not a very helpful book. Like I said earlier, it’s not an in-depth book filled with tools, but it’s a kick-in-the-butt kind of book that gets you up and motivated if you – like me – want to start your own business one day.

I think the reason to why I enjoyed this so much, was because I have always wanted to have my own business, ever since I was 14-15 years old. I’m 27 years old now. I don’t think you’d get much from it if you don’t have any dreams of starting your own business, but you could still enjoy Sophia’s personality and see how she dealt with not being able to sit still in school. When she got to the part with being an introvert, it hit me so hard. I could recognise myself so much in everything she said about it and nearly teared up.

I feel like this book has given me blood on my teeth. Can you say that? Blod på tænderne. Like, I want more. I’ll definitely try to read more inspiring and motivational books about entrepreneurship and business. #Girlboss was a great start on that journey!

Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5 

Leave a Reply

