Book Review: Wintersong (Spoilerfree)

Title: Wintersong | Author: S. Jae-Jones | Edition: Hardback | Pages: 436
Language: English | Published 2017 | Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books

Synopsis

The last night of the year. Now the days of winter begin and the Goblin King rides abroad, searching for his bride…

All her life, Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, dangerous Goblin King. They’ve enraptured her mind and spirit and inspired her musical compositions. Now eighteen and helping to run her family’s inn, Liesl can’t help but feel that her musical dreams and childhood fantasies are slipping away.

But when her own sister is taken by the Goblin King, Liesl has no choice but to journey to the Underground to save her. Drawn to the strange, captivating world she finds – and the mysterious man who rules it – she soon faces an impossible decision. With time and the old laws working against her, Liesl must discover who she truly is before her fate is sealed.

“I am not afraid of you,” I said quietly.
“Oh?” The Goblin King lifted his head. “I am the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground,” he said, mismatched eyes glinting. “I am wildness and madness made flesh. You’re just a girl”– he smiled, and the tips of his teeth were sharp — “and I am the wolf in the woods.”

Review

This was a dark, mysterious and extremely enthralling read! I can’t remember when I was this excited about a book! Probably not since I read Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson. Wintersong was mysterious in the most tasteful way; it had a dark atmosphere, with imperfect characters and an extremely captivating Goblin King. If you really want a visual of what the book’s atmosphere is like, take a good look the cover! I have never seen a book cover so perfect for the actual story within. The light and the dark looks like the world above and the Underground. The rose inside the glass ball represents the love that blossoms but also stings because of the thorns. Ugh. It’s hands down one of my all-time favorite covers!

I just…Β I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH!

Characters

Liesl, short for Elisabeth (I think), is a very interesting main character. She’s the oldest sibling but she’s the one her parents overlook because her two younger siblings are more beautiful and more talented. Liesl, however, is a genius when it comes to composing music, yet her drunken father tells her she can’t become anything because she’s a girl. Throughout the book you see her struggle with finding her own identity – who and what is she? – and I truly enjoyed that aspect of the story.

Liesl and her family feel very fleshed out and well-developed. The Goblin King however, doesn’t feel as fleshed out as Liesl’s family. Because he is a mysterious character, you never truly get a glimpse of his true personality, but it would still have been nice to see more of him and still have that mysterious aura around him. I really liked the Goblin King and constantly hoped for more of him in the book. I truly (and desperately) hope that’ll get changed in the sequel that’s coming in january next year! See it here on Goodreads+

“Sometimes it is easier to pretend.”
“It is,” the Goblin King said in a low voice. His words vibrated all the way down my spine. “But aren’t we too old for our games of make-believe, Elisabeth?”

Plot

The beginning of the plot is that Liesl’s sister gets taken by the Goblin King, down to the Underground, and Liesl is determined to save her. Everything changes changes from there on. The story is incredibly gripping and I loved how different the plot became when you reached a certain part of the book. It has both the adventurous plot and the more slow paced plot, and they worked out so well with each other, that it wasn’t until I reached the end that I realized what a wild ride I’d been in. Like a rollercoaster. Up and down.

I don’t want to add more than the fact that this book starts with her sister being kidnapped. I really enjoyed to see the story develop to something else and not know where it took me, so I want you to experience the same thing when/if you decide to pick this book up!

Those icy eyes glittered, and I was afraid. I trembled, but not with cold. I ached, but not with pain. My feet began to move of their own accord, and I followed the Goblin King out of the light and into the darkness.

Overall

I absolutely loved and enjoyed reading this book! I have a weakness for dark stories with not so good characters, and I couldn’t help but fall in love with the Goblin King. The story of the Underground was very enticing, the Goblins were really interesting and I wish they were more prominent in the story (not counting the two Goblins that help Liesl). It was refreshing for me, to read a book with dangerous kind of romance and I want to read more books with that kind of relationship.

I do wish, as mentioned before, that there was more about the Goblin King and the Goblins. Also, more worldbuilding! The Underground sounded so interesting, and I was actually disappointed with how little there was told about it, but I am very hopeful that the sequel, Shadowsong, will make up for it! *crosses fingers*

I’d recommend this book, if you love dark stories with a touch of a fairy tale feeling to it. It was a delightful change from all the other fantasy books, and I am definitely putting this on my list of favorites from 2017!

Rating
4.5 stars out of 5!
(I know I once wrote 4 stars out of 5 on IG, but I couldn’t get this book out of my head for days and therefore it earns an extra .5 stars!)

 

 

 

One thought on “Book Review: Wintersong (Spoilerfree)

Leave a Reply

