Top 5: Books On My TBR Pile

Don’t we all have an incredibly high stack of unread books? And lots of them being equally exciting and you can’t wait to read them? Well, I am no different from you guys and let me show you 5 books I am the most anxious to read!

  1. The Changeling’s Journey by Christine Spoors

I have been SO EXCITED for the release of this gorgeous book! And of course, like a curse, I am struck with a weird reading slump when I finally get it in my possession. My friend, Christine, is a fellow bookstagrammer and has an awesome book blog, and I am so proud of her for writing a book inspired by Scottish folklore!

Let me show you the synopsis:
Ailsa is dead. Leaving Morven the last surviving changeling in the village. Everyone knows it is only a matter of time before she too is dead. Desperate to find out why the fairies steal human babies, and to save her own life, she leaves her family behind, travelling north into the fairy kingdoms with her best friend.

They soon find that making their way through vast magical forests, across kelpie-ridden lochs and over seemingly endless mountain ranges is more than they were prepared for. Despite the countless evenings spent listening to stories about adventures, fairies and magic, they find themselves out of their depth. Fighting to stay alive.

Meanwhile in the fairy kingdoms, Princess Freya of Culhuinn struggles to cope with life now that her love has been taken from her. Whilst Queen Euna of Norbroch spends more time lost in her memories than she does ruling her kingdom.

One changeling’s journey to save her life will alter their world forever.

It sounds so epic and has gotten lots of amazing reviews!
If you want to grab one for yourself, you can it on Amazon and BookDepository!

2. The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson

I absolutely LOVED and DEVOURED The Kiss of Deception and The Heart of Betrayal, the first two books in The Remnant Chronicles, and that makes me so crazy excited for the third and last book in the trilogy. But also scared, because I am not ready for it to end. So the poor book has been sitting on my shelf for almost a year now and I really should take the bandage off and deal with the pain. (Are you guys also afraid of ending a series or trilogy? I’m not the only one, right??)

3. Roseblood by A. G. Howard

I was so excited for this book when it came out, and it was one of the very first books I ever pre-ordered. Unfortunately it arrived at a time where my son was still very young (6-7 months old) and my boyfriend went on a business trip for 11 days. That left me too exhausted to finish the book (I read about 50-80 pages) and I haven’t picked it up since.

The writing was gorgeous, mysterious and dark – which is right up my alley – so I should stop waiting and start reading!

4. The Ravenboys by Maggie Stiefvater

There is so much hype around these books by Stiefvater. Or at least there used to be when the series was still a work in progress. There is still a lot of talk about it, and that makes me so curious to see if I’ll like them as well. I did try to read the book last year, I think, but it was so slow and weird that I dropped it. Then 2-3 months ago I bought the audiobook, but it was narrated by an elderly man, which I thought was odd because… Blue is a girl? But the plot was still veeeeery very slow. I do want to pick it up again, but that’ll have to be later this year. I am still very excited to get into this series, because I already own three of the four books, haha!

5. A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

This book needs no introduction nor an explanation.

Though I will explain why I haven’t read it yet. I tried in May, but there was something that really annoyed me about it and it made me drop the book, because I don’t want to hate reading it. I love the first two books in the trilogy, ACOTAR and ACOMAF, so it would be such a shame to hate the third and last book. I will try to start and finish it in a few months time, and hopefully I’ll enjoy it!


I hope you enjoyed my quick little Top 5 post! Let me know in the comments down below, and tell me what books you’re most excited to read!

– Aviaja

Leave a Reply

